The Church of the Most Holy Trinity, Dockhead, is a thriving community with a fascinating past. The present building designed by H. S. Goodhart-Rendel and completed in 1959 (the year of his death) replaces an 1834 gothic church destroyed in the Second World War along with the presbytery and a Pugin-designed convent. The original church was the first Catholic church since the Reformation to be built fronting a public highway.
Dockhead has claims to be the oldest mission in the Archdiocese of Southwark, having been established in 1773 in a chapel which was destroyed in the Gordon riots of 1780.
The fact that we celebrate together in a Grade II* Listed Building, however, doesn’t mean we are living in the past – pay us a visit and join us in living our faith in today’s world.